Speak with
a visa specialist:

0207 659 9180

Am I eligible for a UK Tier 1 Visa?

All skilled workers, both in the UK and abroad, can apply for Tier 1 (General) skilled migration.  

Under the new system, UK Tier 1 points are scored on the following criteria:
  • 75 points for your attributes (age, qualifications, previous earnings, and experience in the United Kingdom); and
  • 10 points for proficiency in English; and
  • 10 points for available funds to support yourself.

Applicant must score 95 points to be eligible.

Skilled workers currently in the UK who want to extend their stay can apply for the Tier-1 points-based visa. This includes:
  • People in the UK on student/graduate visas, Tier-1 (Post-Study) work visas and work permits who want to extend their stay.
  • People currently in the UK on an HSMP visa who want to extend their stay.
  • People already on the UK Tier 1 Visa who want to extend their stay.

Skilled workers currently outside of the UK who wish to migrate to the UK can also apply for the Tier 1 skilled migration visa.

Educational Qualifications
Under the new system, applicants with very high previous earnings (£150,000 or above) are allowed to come to the UK under Tier 1 (General), even if they have no formal qualifications at a high level.

Available Settlement Funds
You need to score 10 points for available funds in order to be eligible for the UK Tier 1 Visa. To do this you will need to demonstrate that you have sufficient funds available to support you and any dependents applying with you in the UK without using public funds.

English Language Ability
If you do not have a degree taught in English you will need to sit and pass the International English Language Testing System (IELTS). IELTS measures your ability to listen, read, write and speak English and you need to score at least 6.5 in each of these four components to get your 10 points for the UK Tier-1 Visa.

If you are from any of the following countries you will automatically score 10 points for English language ability: Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, New Zealand, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, United States of America.

Register online with Visa First for your UK Tier 1 Visa today.